Menu Close

Demo for McClatchy II (Miami Herald)

Bal Harbour Village on Monday ordered visitors from 13 states to self-quarantine for two weeks after they arrive in the village and asked a group of cities in northern Miami-Dade County, including Miami Beach, to consider similar measures to slow the spread of COVID-19. The village is now requiring visitors to self-quarantine not only after arriving from New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, as Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis has ordered, but also from 10 other states: California, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Texas and Washington. Those 13 states, village officials said in an emergency order, are “areas of documented substantial community spread” of the novel coronavirus. All visitors from those states — not only by airplane, as DeSantis mandated, but by car, too — must immediately notify the Bal Harbour Police Department upon their arrival, or notify the head of their condominium association if they live on the east side of Collins Avenue.
Posted in v2